Over the last couple of decades, the charges of DUI and DWI have become more serious in all states across the US. But for those who live in Washington State, the mandatory penalties are the strictest in the nation. Here we will take a look at the mandatory penalties that someone who receives a DUI or DWI in the state of Washington can be facing and how to handle it.
Is A DUI In Washington State A Misdemeanor Or Felony?
For those who receive the charge of DUI or DWI, it will often be considered a gross misdemeanor. If however, the person receiving the charge has previously received a similar charge, or if there are extenuating circumstances such as an accident that resulted in injury or death, then these are all situations where the charge can be and likely will be raised to a felony charge. While the charge of DUI will most often be a gross misdemeanor it could be a simple misdemeanor or felony.
If the person being charged is under the age of 21 and their BAC is .02 – .08 then it will be classified as a simple misdemeanor which has a maximum jail sentence of 90 days and a fine of up to $1,000 along with 2 years of probation. If the charge is the more usual gross misdemeanor then it carries the potential of up to one year in jail along with a fine of up to $5,000 and an additional two years probation.
What Should I Do If I’m Facing A DUI Charge In Washington State?
Because of the seriousness of this charge, it is extremely important that you retain an experienced defense attorney to handle your case. They need to be a law firm or lawyer that specifically has the experience of handling this particular charge. You may believe that if the breathalyzer has shown that you are under the influence while driving that your case is unwinnable, but that may not be true.
Retaining Robert Cossey and Associates to represent you, who have handled thousands of traffic offenses including DUI and DWI, driving while license suspended, reckless driving and serious felony traffic offenses is the best way to ensure that you get the best possible outcome in your case. There are many things related to a DUI charge that can be contested and this can lead to a better outcome for you. In many cases, the charge may be dropped or reduced or some of the penalties negotiated.
If you’re facing the charge of DUI call our office fir a free consultation today: (509) 327-5563